How much does you setup effect you?

ยท

3 min read

Many of us since the beginning of the pandemic switched to remote work. We started working from our homes and there we created places where we can work effectively.

If I should be honest with you, during the pandemic I got the chance to work remotely on amazing services with top companies. I am almost 100% sure that would not be possible if companies and people would not adapt to the new style of work.

I got the chance to work in the office and also at home. I noticed that I am more effective at home than when I was in the office, who knows why is that, maybe because nobody is want to drink coffee with me or want to talk about yesterday. ๐Ÿคทโ€โ™‚๏ธ But of course the time spent with colleagues together in the office where I can brainstorm ideas, thoughts, or improvements of the products is irreplaceable for me. Also nice is when you can talk to the colleagues after work or during lunch break and get to know them better. In the virtual world, it is not as personal as it is in the real world. But a nice solution is the hybrid system I guess which will be the new direction at least in IT in my opinion.

During my 2 years of working from home, I went through some progress with my setup. I used 2 laptops, a new work desk, a new headset, and many other small improvements. In the beginning, I must admit I got a mess on my work desk, my whole work environment was not something I am proud of currently of course. ๐Ÿ˜„ But as times went I got more organized and I get rid of all unnecessary things I got on a desk. I bought some nice gadgets, that I think help me with my work at the present.

Some of the gadgets, that help me work more effectively:

  • Laptop, of course, would not be able to do anything without it (MacBook Pro M1)
  • Headset - groundbreaker for me (Sony WH-1000XM4)
  • External monitor (main one when I am at home)
  • Mouse pad (big enough also for the keyboard - Lenovo Legion)
  • Vertical mouse (Eternico MV200)
  • Bluetooth keyboard (Logitech MX Keys Mini)
  • Lamp as a headset holder ๐Ÿ˜†
  • Laptop holder

If you are thinking about buying something for your setup at home, write in the comment section and if it will be relevant for you I can help you with it.

Not everything is perfect about my setup I must admit, because there is still something that I could improve about it. Currently, I am thinking about replacing my chair since the current one is in a catastrophic state and it is a question of the time when my back will say enough is enough. A new monitor will be the next thing because it is getting old and my eyes are not were appreciative of the resolution. And the cherry on top would be a settable desk which you can stand and sit behind it.๐Ÿ”ฅ

If anybody can share your experience it would be much appreciated. ๐Ÿ™Œ

And what about you? What does your setup look like? Share with me what you like about it and what would you change about it. I am looking forward to your setup and maybe I will take inspiration from it.

ย